Kazaviti on the island of Thassos in Greece

Kazaviti, also called Megalos Prinos, is a mountain village on the west side of the island of Thassos. It is located 5 kilometers inland at an altitude of approximately 350 meters. The place has a magical aura. Old stone houses characterize the picture. The village square, the Platia, is the most beautiful on the whole island. It is shaded by old plane trees and invites you to linger. Apart from the summer months of July and August, the place is almost deserted. Most of the houses are used as holiday homes and are empty most of the year. Some of these houses are for rent.

In addition to the renovated houses, there are a very large number of abandoned houses and ruins. This gives the place a morbid atmosphere. Most of the gardens were abandoned and conquered back from nature. Around the village are extensive agricultural terraces. Almost all of them are no longer farmed. Some areas are kept open by goat herds, others overgrow. Below the village flows a stream. The creek is covered with rugged old plane trees and houses many rare species.

Much of the pine forest and 11 houses on the outskirts of Kazaviti were destroyed in the 2016 forest fire.


Participate

There are many things that can not be solved alone. Here are some key points:

  • Reconstruction of ruins in a prime location. There is a large, contiguous area on the upper edge of the village with beautiful sea views. The plots are in one hand with the exception of one half of a house. The houses are all burned down. There are applications for grants.
  • The renovation of still existing stone houses. There are still some very beautiful stone houses. They have different owners, but are mostly for sale. All need a urgent renovation or they are history.
  • The recultivation of former agricultural land.
  • Conservation. There are many rare and protected species of animals and birds in and around Kazaviti. The whole nature is very much endangered.
  • Many wild cats need attention.

The list is long and requires some work. There is an urgent need for action in almost all of these points. I am open to many solutions and there are many that have not been considered yet. Unfortunately my time working on this site is very limited. The individual points are worked out piece by piece and put online. If you were interested without detailed information, you can contact me here.


Categories

Here you find thematically sorted contents of this page.

Restaurants

General information about taverns and cafes

Attractions

Versteckte Orte in und um Kazaviti

Information

Information about Kazaviti and the surrounding area

Holiday Homes

Original stone houses for rent

The Forest Fire

The forest fire on the 10th September 2016

Property

Houses and Land for sale

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Kazaviti auf der Insel Thassos in Griechenland

Panorame von Kazaviti auf der Westseite der Insel Thassos

Kazaviti, auch Megalos Prinos genannt, ist ein Bergdorf auf der Westseite der Insel Thassos. Es liegt etwa 5 Kilometer landeinwärts auf einer Höhe von ca.350 Metern. Der Ort hat eine magische Ausstrahlung. Alte Steinhäuser prägen das Bild. Der Dorfplatz, die Platia, ist der schönste auf der ganzen Insel. Er wird von alten Platanen beschattet und lädt zum gemütlichen Verweilen ein. Abgesehen von den Sommermonaten Juli und August ist der Ort fast menschenleer. Die meisten hergerichteten Häuser werden als Ferienhaus genutzt und stehen die meiste Zeit des Jahres leer. Einige dieser Häuser sind zu mieten.

Neben den renovierten Häusern gibt es eine sehr große Anzahl an leerstehenden Häusern und Ruinen. Das verleiht dem Ort eine morbide Atmosphäre. Die meisten Gärten wurden aufgegeben und wieder von der Natur zurück erobert. Um das Dorf herum liegen weitläufige landwirtschaftliche Terrassen. Sie werden fast alle nicht mehr bewirtschaftetet. Einige Bereiche werden durch Ziegenherden offen gehalten, andere wachsen zu. Unterhalb des Dorfes fließt ein Bach. Das Bachbett ist mit urigen alten Platanen bestanden und beherbergt viele seltene Tierarten.

Ein Großteil des Kiefernwaldes und 11 Häuser am Dorfrand von Kazaviti wurden bei dem Waldbrand 2016 zerstört.


Mitmachen


Es gibt viele Dinge, die nicht alleine gelöst werden können und sollen. Hier kurz die wichtigsten Punkte:

  • Wiederaufbau von Ruinen in bester Lage. Es gibt ein großes, zusammenhängendes Gebiet am oberen Dorfrand mit schönem Meerblick. Die Grundstücke sind mit Ausnahme einer Haushälfte in einer Hand. Die Häuser sind alle abgebrannt. Es laufen Anträge auf Zuschüsse.
  • Die Renovierung noch stehender Steinhäuser. Es gibt noch immer einige sehr schöne Steinhäuser. Sie haben unterschiedliche Besitzer, sind aber meist verkäuflich. Alle brauchen dringen eine Instandsetzung oder sie sind Geschichte.
  • Die Rekultivierung ehemaliger Landwirtschaftsflächen.
  • Naturschutz. Es gibt viele seltene und auch geschützte Tier- und Vogelarten in um um Kazaviti herum. Die ganze Natur ist sehr stark gefährdet.
  • Viele wilde Katzen die Aufmerksamkeit benötigen.

Die Liste ist lang und bedarf einiger Arbeit. Es gibt in fast allen genannten Punkten dringenden Handlungsbedarf. Ich bin für viele Lösungsvorschläge offen und es gibt viele, die noch gar nicht angedacht wurden. Leider ist meine Zeit an dieser Seite zu arbeiten sehr begrenzt. Die einzelnen Punkte werden Stück für Stück ausgearbeitet und online gestellt. Falls Sie ohne genaue Ausführungen Interesse gekriegt haben, können Sie hier Kontakt mit mir aufnehmen.


Kategorien

Hier finden Sie thematisch sortierte Inhalte dieser Seite.

Restaurants

Allgemeine Informationen zu Tavernen und Cafes

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Versteckte Orte in und um Kazaviti

Informationen

Informationen zu Kazaviti und der näheren Umgebung

Ferienhäuser

Originale Steinhäuser zu Miete

Der Waldbrand

Der Waldbrand am ­10. September 2016

Immobilien

Zum Verkauf stehende Häuser und Grundstücke

Diese Seite ist auch in: English verfügbar